Tour de France: All Winners Since Beginning 1903




From 1903 until the present, every champion winner of the Tour de France

The Tour de France, the most prestigious of the three Grand Tours, has been held on an annual basis since 1903, with two interruptions in its history, one for each of the World Wars.

The names of several of the world’s top bike riders have appeared on the list of Tour de France champions over the years.

Lance Armstrong, who wore the yellow jersey in Paris for seven years in a row between 1999 and 2005, was the most prolific winner. Following an examination by the US Anti-Doping Agency in 2012, he was stripped of all of his titles (USADA).

The prolific quartet of Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, and Miguel Indurain is next in line. All four have five titles to their names; Anquitel was the first to do so, but Mercx remains the only person to have won the general classification, points classification, and king of the mountains classifications in the same Tour, which he achieved in 1969.

Chris Froome, currently Israel Start-Up Nation, has four victories to his name, having won in 2013 and then five times in a row from 2015 to 2017, however he has yet to match the record of five overall triumphs set by Lance Armstrong.


Tour de France Historical Facts

Table Of Contents

  1. Tour de France Winners Since Beginning 1903
  2. What Does It Take To Win the Tour de France?
  3. The First Non-French Winner Of The Tour de France
  4. The Winner Of First Tour de France
  5. The Oldest Ever Tour de France Winner
  6. Youngest Ever Tour de France Winner
  7. First Even Tour de France Disqualification
  8. Smallest Even Winning Margin in Tour de France

Tour de France Winners Since Beginning 1903


Lance Armstrong’s (USA) Tour de France wins from 1999 to 2005 were formerly assigned to him, but they were removed after he was found guilty of doping. For these years, no alternate winner has been announced.

What Does It Take To Win the Tour de France?

The winner of the General Classification won their berth in the race’s first edition based on total riding time. Following the disqualification of the 1904 winner, Maurice Garin, the organizers implemented a points-based system.

Then, in 1912, they went back to deciding the winner on the basis of time. Today, the rider with the lowest overall accumulated time leads the General Classification, and whoever keeps that position when the peloton reaches in Paris is named the winner.

The First Non-French Winner Of The Tour de France

For the first few years of the race, Frenchmen dominated the winner’s list. François Faber of Luxembourg, who won in 1909, was the first winner from outside the country of origin.

Britain took a long time to catch up, with Bradley Wiggins (Team Sky) becoming the first British rider to compete in the men’s Tour de France in 2012. Thanks to Wiggins and Froome, Great Britain now has five overall victories.

The Winner Of First Tour de France

Maurice Garin, a rider from the competition’s home country, won the first ever race in 1903.

The Oldest Ever Tour de France Winner

Firmin Lambot, the oldest ever Tour de France winner, is the only rider to win the race at the age of 35. At 36 years old and 130 days in his eighth Tour de France race, the Belgian rider won his second Tour de France crown.

Youngest Ever Tour de France Winner

Fabio Battesini, who was 19 years and 134 days old when he won a stage of the Tour de France in 1931, was the Tour’s youngest ever stage winner.

First Even Tour de France Disqualification

1904 Tour de France race, nine riders were disqualified for illegally using automobiles or trains, among other things. The Tour organizers were pleased with the outcome, but after complaints from other riders, the Union Vélocipédique Française (UVF) launched an investigation. They invalidated all of the stage winners and the first four finishers (Maurice Garin, Pothier, César Garin, and Aucouturier) in December 1904 after hearing testimony from dozens of participants and witnesses. Ten of those who were disqualified were given a one-year suspension, Maurice Garin was given a two-year ban, and the remaining two were given life bans. There were a total of 29 riders that were fined. The cause for his disqualification was never revealed.

Fifth-placed Henri Cornet, then 19 years old, became the Tour’s youngest ever winner. Cornet was also admonished after being given a ride in a car. Only 15 of the 27 cyclists who completed the race were not disqualified.

Since then, there have been a number of disqualifications, usually for doping (Armstrong, 1999-2005, Floyd Landis, 2006, Alberto Contador, 2010).

Smallest Even Winning Margin in Tour de France

23rd of July, 1989 PARIS- Greg LeMond of the United States won the Tour de France for the second time today, racing from Versailles to Paris in a spectacular 26 minutes 57 seconds. His 8-second victory against France’s Laurent Fignon was the smallest ever in the world’s biggest bicycle race.

Contact Us

If you have any suggestions or advise, please feel free to reach us via our Contact Us here.

DIY Research

If you are a research nerd then we highly recommend that treat Google as your best friend.

2022 Tour de France: How Time Has Evolved The Tour

2022 Tour de France: List of Participating Teams

Understanding the 2022 Tour de France: A Comprehensive Guide

2022 Mountain Bike | Trek 820 | Review

Buying A New Bicycle? There Are 11 Things You Should Consider

2022 Tour de France: Jerseys And Their Meanings